It finally happened

Posted on

So, I finally did it. Today I went jogging for the first time in over 3 years… hurrah for me. The Couch to 5K app had been loitering around on my phone for at least a couple of weeks taunting me, making me feel guilty and mocking my inactivity. So finally, fully over my cold, I cautiously set my alarm for 6am and hit the sack for an early night. Surprisingly I woke up feeling not as tired as I thought I would and with a quick brush of the teeth off I set.

I am using a free app called C25K to help me along the way. Not having jogged for over 3 years means I am completely out of shape and I knew if I had just tried to run a whole 30 minutes it would have been way too much for me. The app eases you in to being active and builds you up slowly from your seat of the couch to hopefully being able to jog 5K comfortably. The work out today was 5 minutes of brisk walking to warm up followed by intervals of jogging for 60 seconds and walking for 90 seconds.

So what’s the verdict? It wasn’t too bad at all. Was a fab shade of pink at the end of it?…certainly! but the work out was totally manageable. Go me!

Leave a Reply

